Our Top Picks
Dell 2022 Inspiron 3593 15.6" FHD Non-Touchscreen Laptop8 GB | 512 GB Storage16.35 x 10.99 x 0.98 inches4.34 poundsCheck on Amazon
Dell 2021 New inspiron 15 3000 PC Laptop15-15.99 inches14.33 x 9.8 x 0.78 inches7 PoundsCheck on Amazon
The best non touch screen laptop in this set is a Dell Latitude 5420, either the Core i7 or the Core i5 version, if you accept a renewed machine, and a new Dell 15.6 inch with the Intel Core 3 100U if you want a newer unit with a matte screen. Ten Amazon listings are compared here using only what each title says and general knowledge about laptops. Three of them are touchscreen models that do not belong in a non-touch roundup, and two more do not mention touch either way. We label those clearly, because the point of this list is to help you avoid ordering the wrong screen.
Top picks at a glance

Dell Latitude 5420 14" Non-Touchscreen Laptop, Intel Core i7-11th Gen, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Win11 Pro. (Renewed)
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell 15.6 Laptop, FHD, Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB RAM, Windows 11 Home | 300 nits Anti-Glare WVA, Intel UHD Graphics, DDR5, 512GB SSD, Wi‑Fi 6, Bluetooth, Carbon Black, 3‑Cell 41WHr Battery, DC15250
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell 2022 Inspiron 3593 15.6" FHD Non-Touchscreen Laptop, Intel Core i7-1065G7 Processor, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, HDMI, WiFi, Bluetooth, Webcam, Windows 10 Home, Black
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell Inspiron 15 3505, 15.6 inch FHD Non-Touch Laptop - AMD Ryzen TM 3 3250U Mobile Processor, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, Integrated Graphics with AMD APU, Windows 10 Home
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell 2021 New inspiron 15 3000 PC Laptop, 15.6" HD Anti-Glare Non-Touch Display, Intel Celeron Processor N4020 (up to 2.8 GHz), 4GB RAM, 128GB PCIe NVMe SSD, WiFi, Webcam, HDMI, Bluetooth, Win 10 Pro
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP 14 Laptop Computer, 2027 Edition, Intel N150 CPU, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Win 11 with Microsoft 365
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell 15.6" FHD Touchscreen Laptop | 13th Gen Intel Core i5-1334U | 8GB RAM | 512GB PCIe SSD | Wi-Fi 6 | 1080p Webcam | Copilot AI | HDMI | Business & Study Ready | Windows 11
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell Latitude 5420 14" Laptop Core i5-1145G7 512GB PCIe SSD 16GB RAM FHD (1920x1080) Non Touch Win 11 Pro (Renewed)
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP OmniBook 3 16 inch Laptop PC, 2K Touchscreen, AMD Ryzen 3 30, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, AMD Radeon 610M GPU, Windows 11 Home, Mica Silver, 16-by0299nr
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
HP 15.6 inch Laptop, HD Touchscreen Display, AMD Ryzen 3 7320U, 8 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD, AMD Radeon Graphics, Windows 11 Home in S Mode, Natural Silver, 15- fc0099nr
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon| Model | Key point from the title | Touch status in the title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dell Latitude 5420 14″ (Core i7, renewed) | 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Windows 11 Pro | Non-touch | Mid | Office work, multitasking |
| Dell Latitude 5420 14″ (Core i5, renewed) | 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, FHD, Windows 11 Pro | Non-touch | Budget to mid | Best value in the set |
| Dell 15.6″ Core 3 100U | 8GB DDR5, 512GB SSD, 300 nits anti-glare, Wi-Fi 6 | Not stated | Mid | A newer all-round laptop |
| Dell Inspiron 3593 15.6″ | Core i7-1065G7, 8GB, 512GB, Windows 10 | Non-touch | Mid to premium | Buyers who want a 15.6 inch screen |
| Dell Inspiron 15 3505 | Ryzen 3 3250U, 8GB DDR4, 256GB, Windows 10 | Non-touch | Budget | Basic home use |
| Dell Inspiron 15 3000 | Celeron N4020, 4GB, 128GB, HD, Windows 10 Pro | Non-touch | Budget | Light browsing only |
| HP 14 | Intel N150, 4GB, 128GB, Windows 11 with Microsoft 365 | Not stated | Budget | Very light tasks |
| Dell 15.6″ Touchscreen (Core i5-1334U) | 8GB, 512GB, Wi-Fi 6, 1080p webcam | Touchscreen | Mid | Not for this list |
| HP OmniBook 3 16″ | 2K touchscreen, Ryzen 3 30, 8GB, 512GB | Touchscreen | Mid | Not for this list |
| HP 15.6″ HD Touchscreen | Ryzen 3 7320U, 8GB, 128GB, Windows 11 S mode | Touchscreen | Mid | Not for this list |
Price tiers are relative inside this set. Check each listing for the current figure.
Why non-touch is still a real category
Touchscreens have spread across the laptop market, and many shoppers now find that the screen they want is only offered with a touch layer. That makes a plain non-touch panel something you must look for deliberately. Business laptops, budget models and refurbished corporate machines are where it still turns up.
The usual reasons to want one are practical. A glossy touch layer tends to reflect lights and windows, while many non-touch screens ship with an anti-glare finish. Fingerprints are a smaller issue without touch. Non-touch models are generally cheaper to make, so the saving can go into memory or storage. Some buyers also say battery life is better, though that depends on the whole design.
The trade is flexibility. If you draw, annotate documents or use the laptop in tablet mode, a non-touch machine will not do it. People who only type and use a trackpad rarely miss touch, and some organisations specify non-touch laptops for desks where fingers are rarely near the screen.
Another change is the rise of refurbished business laptops. The Latitude 5420 appears twice here as a renewed machine, a pattern that shows how many buyers use used office hardware to get 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD at a low tier. The cost is battery wear and shorter remaining support, which you weigh against the saving.
How these were picked
The set is built from Amazon listings returned for non-touch searches. Our basis is published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Because the title decides whether a listing is on-topic, we sorted each laptop by touch status: stated non-touch, not stated, and stated touch. The last group is included only to warn you, not to recommend it.
The ten listings
Dell Latitude 5420 14″ Non-Touchscreen Laptop, Core i7 (Renewed)
The title says non-touchscreen outright, then lists an 11th generation Intel Core i7, 16GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD and Windows 11 Pro. It is a renewed unit, meaning a used machine restored by a seller, so the battery and cosmetic condition vary. Latitude is Dell’s business line, which is known for sturdy builds and ports, though this title does not describe either.
Scenario: an office worker who runs a browser with many tabs, a video call and spreadsheets. 16GB handles that load better than the 8GB machines, and the storage leaves room for documents. A matte or glare-free screen is likely but not stated, so check photos.
Pros
- Non-touch stated in the title
- 16GB of RAM and 512GB of storage
- Windows 11 Pro for business features
Cons
- Renewed, so battery wear is likely
- Near-duplicate of the i5 version
Check the listing for the renewed grade, warranty and battery health. Ask before buying: is the i7 worth the price gap over the i5?
Dell Latitude 5420 14″ Laptop Core i5, Non Touch (Renewed)
This is the same Latitude 5420 family with an 11th generation Core i5-1145G7, 16GB of RAM, a 512GB PCIe SSD, an FHD 1920 by 1080 screen, Non Touch and Windows 11 Pro. It lists a lower price tier than the i7 listing in the data, and the memory and storage are identical.
For typing, email and web work, the i5 is likely to feel close to the i7, since the extra speed shows up in heavy tasks rather than everyday ones. That makes it the better value of the pair for most buyers.
Pros
- Non-touch and FHD stated
- Same 16GB and 512GB as the i7 version at a lower tier
- Windows 11 Pro installed
Cons
- Used hardware with an unknown battery state
- 14 inch screen is smaller than the 15.6 inch rivals
Check the listing for the warranty length and the return window. Ask before buying: does the seller describe the cosmetic grade?
Dell 15.6″ Laptop, Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB DDR5
The newest-looking Dell here lists an FHD screen, an Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB of RAM, Windows 11 Home, 300 nits of brightness on an anti-glare WVA panel, DDR5 memory, a 512GB SSD, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth and a 3-cell 41WHr battery. The title does not say non-touch, so the screen type is not confirmed. Anti-glare is common on non-touch panels but is not proof.
The 41WHr battery figure is useful because it lets you estimate runtime in the worked example below. Eight gigabytes is acceptable for web and office use but it limits heavy multitasking.
Pros
- New-generation platform with DDR5 and Wi-Fi 6
- Anti-glare panel with 300 nits listed
- 512GB SSD is roomy for the tier
Cons
- Touch status is not stated
- 8GB of RAM is only adequate
Check the listing for the exact model number and touch specification. Ask before buying: does the manufacturer page list this model as non-touch?
Dell Inspiron 3593 15.6″ FHD Non-Touchscreen Laptop
The title says FHD non-touchscreen and lists an Intel Core i7-1065G7, 8GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD, HDMI, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, a webcam and Windows 10 Home. It is a 10th generation platform, so it is older than the Latitude 11th generation machines, and the Windows 10 label means an upgrade check is wise.
It lists a higher price tier than the 16GB renewed Latitude, which is a reminder that a new-looking listing does not always give more for the money. The 15.6 inch screen and HDMI port are the draws for a home desk with an external monitor.
Pros
- Non-touch stated with a 15.6 inch FHD panel
- HDMI port and 512GB SSD
Cons
- 8GB of RAM on a pricier tier than the renewed Latitudes
- Windows 10 listing with an unclear upgrade path
Check the listing for upgrade eligibility and memory upgrade options. Ask before buying: is it really better than the renewed 16GB option?
Dell Inspiron 15 3505 15.6″ FHD Non-Touch Laptop
This budget model lists an AMD Ryzen 3 3250U, 8GB of DDR4 memory, a 256GB SSD, integrated AMD graphics, Windows 10 Home and a 15.6 inch FHD non-touch screen. It is an entry processor, fine for browsing and documents.
The 256GB drive fills quickly if you store photos or video, so plan on cloud storage or a USB drive. It suits a household laptop for homework, bills and streaming.
Pros
- Non-touch FHD at the budget tier
- 8GB of DDR4 is enough for basic use
Cons
- Small 256GB drive
- Older entry chip and Windows 10
Check the listing for upgrade options and the battery size. Ask before buying: will I outgrow 256GB in a year?
Dell Inspiron 15 3000 15.6″ HD Anti-Glare Non-Touch Laptop
The cheapest Dell here lists an HD (not FHD) anti-glare non-touch display, an Intel Celeron N4020 up to 2.8GHz, 4GB of RAM, a 128GB PCIe NVMe SSD, a webcam, HDMI, Bluetooth and Windows 10 Pro. The title mentions a year of release, which is a label to ignore, since the hardware is what matters.
It is the weakest laptop on the list for performance. Four gigabytes of RAM and a Celeron processor limit it to a few browser tabs and simple documents. Use it as a secondary machine, not a daily workhorse.
Pros
- Non-touch and anti-glare stated
- Lowest cost in the set
Cons
- 4GB of RAM and 128GB of storage
- HD resolution and a Celeron chip
Check the listing for upgradeable memory. Ask before buying: will 4GB handle my everyday apps?
HP 14 Laptop Computer with Microsoft 365
The HP lists an Intel N150 processor, 4GB of RAM, a 128GB SSD, Windows 11 and Microsoft 365. The title also carries an edition year and says nothing about the screen type, so touch status is unknown. Check the manufacturer page for the model number.
The Microsoft 365 mention is worth reading carefully: such bundles are often a time-limited subscription, and the length is not given here. The 4GB memory limits it to light work.
Pros
- Windows 11 stated with Microsoft 365 mentioned
- Compact 14 inch size
Cons
- Touch status is not stated
- 4GB of RAM and 128GB of storage
Check the listing for the Microsoft 365 term and the exact HP model. Ask before buying: how long is the subscription?
Dell 15.6″ FHD Touchscreen Laptop, Core i5-1334U (Off-Type)
The title says touchscreen, which is the opposite of the keyword. It also lists a 13th generation Core i5-1334U, 8GB of RAM, a 512GB PCIe SSD, Wi-Fi 6, a 1080p webcam, Copilot AI and Windows 11. As a laptop it looks sound, but it is the wrong screen type for this guide.
Buy it only if you decide you want touch. Otherwise move on.
Pros
- 13th generation chip with a 512GB SSD
- 1080p webcam stated
Cons
- Touchscreen, so not a match for this search
- 8GB of RAM
Check the listing if you want touch. Ask before buying: do I really want a touch layer?
HP OmniBook 3 16″ Laptop, 2K Touchscreen (Off-Type)
Another touchscreen listing, with a 16 inch 2K panel, an AMD Ryzen 3 30, 8GB of RAM, a 512GB SSD, Radeon 610M graphics and Windows 11 Home. The sharp large screen is appealing, but it is built around the touch feature this guide avoids.
It is a better fit for buyers who want a big display and do not mind touch. The processor name is written unusually, so read the specification block.
Pros
- Large sharp 2K display
- 512GB storage
Cons
- Touch, so off-topic for this list
- 8GB of RAM
Check the listing for brightness and finish. Ask before buying: would a matte screen suit me better?
HP 15.6″ HD Touchscreen Laptop, Ryzen 3 7320U (Off-Type)
The third touchscreen listing has an HD touch display, a Ryzen 3 7320U, 8GB of RAM, a 128GB SSD, Radeon graphics and Windows 11 Home in S Mode. S Mode limits software to the Microsoft Store unless you switch out of it.
The small 128GB drive and HD resolution make it a weak match even for touch buyers at this tier.
Pros
- Newer low-power AMD chip
- Windows 11 stated
Cons
- Touchscreen and HD resolution
- S Mode and a small drive
Check the listing for S Mode switching steps. Ask before buying: do I need apps outside the Microsoft Store?
Buying guide for a non-touch laptop
Confirm the screen type before paying
| What the listing says | What it means | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| “Non-Touchscreen” or “Non Touch” | The seller states a plain panel | Still check photos and specs |
| “Touchscreen” or “2-in-1” | Touch is built in | Skip if you want non-touch |
| “Anti-glare” only | Describes the finish, not touch | Look up the model number |
| Silent on the screen | Unknown | Ask the seller or read the maker page |
Memory, storage and processor
Sixteen gigabytes of RAM is the most comfortable level for office work that stays useful for years. Eight gigabytes still works for lighter use. Four gigabytes should be reserved for very basic tasks. For storage, 256GB is the minimum for most people, and 512GB gives room. Choose an SSD over a mechanical drive. For processors, newer low-power chips are fine for office use, while Celeron and N-series entry chips are for very light tasks.
A battery worked example
The Dell 15.6 inch listing gives a 41WHr battery. Runtime is capacity divided by average power draw. These are our own assumptions, not measurements: a light office day might draw about 8 watts on average, and a heavier mix with video calls might draw 12 watts.
| Assumed average draw | Calculation | Estimated runtime |
|---|---|---|
| 8 watts (documents and browsing) | 41 divided by 8 | About 5.1 hours |
| 12 watts (calls and many tabs) | 41 divided by 12 | About 3.4 hours |
| 16 watts (video and brightness up) | 41 divided by 16 | About 2.6 hours |
Real results differ with brightness, Wi-Fi and battery age, and the renewed Latitudes may hold less than their original capacity. Use the table to compare, not to promise.
Other places to look
If you want to leave the Windows laptop pool altogether, our non-MacBook laptop guide covers the other side of that choice. If you later decide touch is worth having, the Asus ProArt PX13 touch laptop page shows what a premium touch model looks like.
Who should skip non-touch
Artists, note-takers who annotate PDFs, and anyone who likes folding a laptop into tablet mode should look at a touch or 2-in-1 model instead. A phone-first user who taps the screen out of habit may also find a non-touch panel annoying for the first week. If you share the laptop with children, keep in mind that a child may reach for the screen, and a plain panel simply will not respond.
A checklist to run before you pay
- Find the exact model number in the listing and look it up on the manufacturer page for the screen type.
- Count the memory and storage, and decide whether 8GB or 256GB is enough for two to three years.
- Read the operating system line, and ask about Windows 11 eligibility if it says Windows 10.
- For renewed units, find the warranty length, return window and any battery statement.
- Look for S Mode, subscription bundles and edition labels in the title that are not hardware.
- Check the port list for HDMI or USB-C if you plan to connect a monitor.
Mistakes buyers make
| Mistake | Why it hurts | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Assuming anti-glare means non-touch | Some touch panels are matte too | Verify the model number |
| Buying a Windows 10 laptop without checking | Upgrade may not be possible | Ask for Windows 11 eligibility |
| Ignoring renewed battery wear | Runtime may be well below the original | Check warranty and returns |
| Paying more for a new label | Older chips can cost more than used 16GB machines | Compare RAM and storage first |
| Ignoring S Mode | Limits apps to the Microsoft Store | Read the title for S Mode |
Verdict by use case
| If you are… | Pick | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| After the best value overall | Latitude 5420 Core i5 (renewed) | Non-touch, 16GB, 512GB and Windows 11 Pro |
| Wanting a bit more speed | Latitude 5420 Core i7 (renewed) | Same memory and storage, faster chip |
| Wanting something newer | Dell 15.6 Core 3 100U | DDR5, Wi-Fi 6, anti-glare, but verify touch status |
| Buying for basic home use | Inspiron 15 3505 | Non-touch, 8GB, low price |
| On a minimal budget | Inspiron 15 3000 | Cheapest, but 4GB |
| Wanting touch after all | The Dell touchscreen or HP touch listings | They are outside this guide |
Frequently asked questions
Why choose a non-touch laptop over a touchscreen one?
Non-touch panels usually cost less, are often matte or anti-glare, and avoid fingerprints and reflections on a glossy glass layer. Many buyers also report longer battery life, though the gap depends on the model. If you type, browse and run office apps, you may never use touch. If you draw, annotate or use tablet mode, a touchscreen earns its place.
How can I tell from a listing whether a laptop is touch or non-touch?
Read the title for the words non-touch or touchscreen, then confirm in the specification block and photos. Some listings say neither, so the screen type is unknown. A matte or anti-glare mention hints at non-touch but does not prove it. If the title is silent, ask the seller or check the exact model number on the manufacturer site before you order.
Is a renewed laptop a good idea?
It can be, if the seller states a warranty and a return window. Renewed means a used machine that was inspected and restored, so the battery may be worn and the cosmetic grade varies. The two Dell Latitude listings here are renewed, which explains their lower price tier next to newer-looking models. Check the battery condition and return terms before buying.
Is 8GB of RAM enough for a non-touch work laptop?
For browsing, documents, video calls and light spreadsheets, 8GB works for most people, though many tabs or heavy apps can fill it. 16GB gives more room and helps a laptop stay useful for longer. Four and eight gigabyte models can be tight if you keep a browser, a chat app and an office suite open together, and unlike storage, memory is often soldered on a thin laptop, so check whether the listing allows an upgrade.
Should I worry about Windows 10 on a listing?
Yes, check it. Microsoft ended standard support for Windows 10 in 2025, so a laptop shipped with it may need an upgrade to Windows 11 or extended security updates. Whether a particular laptop can upgrade depends on its processor and firmware, and some older chips cannot. Ask the seller, or look up the model on Microsoft and the manufacturer pages, before relying on it.
Is a non-touch laptop good for gaming?
Not by itself. Touch status says nothing about graphics power, and none of the titles names a dedicated graphics card, so expect integrated graphics, which suit light and older games only. If gaming matters, you need a dedicated graphics chip, which none of these listings state. Treat these as work and study machines and look at a gaming model if frame rates are the goal.