Key takeaways
- ASUS ROG Strix G16 review built from listing specs: RTX 5060 vs RTX 5070 configurations, 16GB RAM limits, 165Hz screen and what to check first.
The ASUS ROG Strix G16 is a 16-inch, 16:10 gaming laptop family, and the two listings in front of us are not the same machine: one pairs an RTX 5060 with an Intel Core i7 14650HX, the other pairs an RTX 5070 with an AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX. Both ship with 16GB of DDR5 and a 1TB Gen 4 SSD, both use a 165Hz FHD+ panel, and both run Windows 11 Home. If you want the short version: the 5060 configuration is the sensible entry point, the 5070 configuration buys you more graphics headroom at a noticeably higher tier, and neither listing fixes the 16GB memory ceiling for you.
This is an editorial read of the published listing text. Nobody on the team used or measured these units, so there are no frame-rate charts, no thermal readings and no battery claims here. What you get instead is a careful reading of what each title states, what it leaves out, and which questions are worth answering before you pay.
At a glance: the two Strix G16 listings

ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025) Gaming Laptop, 16” FHD+ 16:10 165Hz/3ms, NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 5060, Intel® Core™ i7 Processor 14650HX, 16GB DDR5, 1TB Gen 4 SSD, Wi-Fi 7, Windows 11 Home, G615JMR-AS74
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025) Gaming Laptop, 16” 16:10 FHD+ 165Hz/3ms, NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 5070, AMD Ryzen™ 9 9955HX Processor, 16GB DDR5-5600, 1TB PCIe Gen 4 SSD, Wi-Fi 6E, Windows 11 Home, G614FP-OS94
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon| Item | RTX 5060 listing | RTX 5070 listing |
|---|---|---|
| Model code in title | G615JMR-AS74 | G614FP-OS94 |
| Processor named | Intel Core i7 14650HX | AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX |
| Graphics named | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 |
| Display named | 16-inch FHD+ 16:10, 165Hz, 3ms | 16-inch 16:10 FHD+, 165Hz, 3ms |
| Memory named | 16GB DDR5 | 16GB DDR5-5600 |
| Storage named | 1TB Gen 4 SSD | 1TB PCIe Gen 4 SSD |
| Wireless named | Wi-Fi 7 | Wi-Fi 6E |
| Price tier within this set | Mid-range | Premium |
The price tier row is relative: it compares the two listings against each other, not against the wider laptop market. Notice the one place where the cheaper listing leads on paper, which is wireless. The 5060 listing names Wi-Fi 7 while the 5070 listing names Wi-Fi 6E. That is worth a second look if you own a newer router, though for most home connections it will be a minor factor next to the graphics difference.
Which Strix G16 is “the” Strix G16?
The keyword names a family rather than a single configuration, and the set contains no listing that is clearly “the” model. We treat the RTX 5060 listing as the baseline because it is the lower tier and the likelier first purchase, and we treat the RTX 5070 listing as the step-up version of the same idea. Where we say “the Strix G16” without qualification, we mean the traits both titles share: 16-inch 16:10 screen, 165Hz refresh with a stated 3ms response, 16GB of DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 drive and Windows 11 Home.
One honest limit: only two products in this set carry the Strix G16 name, so the “alternatives” part of this review leans on the second configuration and on related reads rather than a long list of rival cards. We would rather say that plainly than pad the page with listings that are a different class of machine.
Who the Strix G16 suits, and who should skip it
Good fit
- Players who want a single machine for 1080p-class gaming on a 16:10 screen and care about a high refresh rate more than about resolution.
- Students and hybrid users who want a large 16-inch display for documents and a capable GPU for evenings.
- Buyers who plan to add memory later and are comfortable doing so, or paying for it at a service point.
Probably skip
- Anyone who wants a thin, quiet travel laptop. A 16-inch gaming machine with an HX-class processor is a desk-first purchase; check the listing for weight and charger size before you decide otherwise.
- Creators who need a colour-critical panel. The titles say FHD+ and refresh rate, not colour coverage or panel type, so verify that on the listing.
- Buyers who want 32GB out of the box. Both titles say 16GB.
What a 16:10 FHD+ 165Hz panel means in practice
FHD+ on a 16:10 screen is normally 1920×1200, which is 2,304,000 pixels compared with 2,073,600 on a standard 1920×1080 panel. That is roughly 11 percent more pixels to draw each frame, so a GPU that holds a given frame rate at 1080p will need to work slightly harder here. The extra rows are not wasted: they show more of a web page, a spreadsheet or a game’s vertical field of view, which many people find more comfortable than a wide, short 16:9 screen.
The 165Hz figure is the panel’s top refresh rate, and the 3ms figure is a response-time claim that manufacturers usually quote under favourable conditions. Neither title mentions variable refresh support or panel type, so do not assume tear-free output or a particular look. If you mostly play esports-style titles that can run well above 100 frames per second, a 165Hz screen lets you see that smoothness. If you mostly play slower story games capped at 60 frames per second, the high refresh rate matters less and the panel’s brightness and colour matter more, which are details the title does not give.
It also helps to be honest about what this screen is not. It is not a 1440p or 2.5K panel, and it is not stated to be OLED or to cover a wide colour range. Buyers who see “gaming laptop at a premium tier” sometimes assume a premium display comes with it. Here the two titles describe the same FHD+ panel across both tiers, so the extra money goes into the processor and graphics, not the screen.
What the titles tell you and what they do not
Read as a spec sheet, each title is useful but thin. Here is the split.
| Stated in the title | Not stated, check the listing |
|---|---|
| GPU name (RTX 5060 or RTX 5070) | Graphics power limit, in watts |
| CPU name and generation family | Cooling design, fan noise |
| 16:10 FHD+ panel, 165Hz, 3ms | Brightness, colour coverage, VRR support |
| 16GB DDR5 (one title adds DDR5-5600) | Whether RAM is soldered or in slots, free slot count |
| 1TB Gen 4 SSD | Free M.2 slots for a second drive |
| Windows 11 Home, Wi-Fi generation | Port selection, battery capacity, weight |
Two wording points deserve a flag. First, the response time and refresh figures are seller claims drawn from the manufacturer’s marketing language; real motion clarity depends on the panel and the settings. Second, the 5060 listing writes the processor as “Intel Core i7 Processor 14650HX,” which is a slightly unusual phrasing. It is not wrong, but it is a reminder to confirm the exact CPU name on the product page before you assume what you are getting.
Questions to ask before buying
- Is the seller ASUS itself, Amazon, or a third party, and what warranty applies to this specific listing?
- Does the 16GB of DDR5 sit in two slots or is any of it soldered? That decides whether a later upgrade is easy or impossible.
- How many M.2 slots exist and how many are free?
- What is the rated graphics power, and does the laptop have a switch between a hybrid mode and a discrete-only mode?
- What ports are on the chassis, and is there video output you need for an external monitor?
- What is the included charger rating, and is it a size you are willing to carry?
The two Strix G16 listings in detail
ASUS ROG Strix G16 with RTX 5060 and Core i7 14650HX (G615JMR-AS74)
This is the listing we would start with for most readers. The title states an RTX 5060, an Intel Core i7 14650HX, 16GB DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 SSD, Wi-Fi 7 and a 16-inch FHD+ 16:10 screen at 165Hz with 3ms response. For a 1920×1200 panel, that is a sensible pairing on paper: an RTX 5060-class GPU is aimed at 1080p-to-1200p gaming at high settings rather than 4K, and a 165Hz panel gives a frame-time budget of about 6.1 ms per frame at its top refresh rate (1000 divided by 165). Whether the GPU can keep up with that in a given game is a question for the game, not the spec line.
A use-scenario helps. Picture a student who plays competitive shooters on weekdays and open-world games on weekends. The shooters benefit from the high refresh rate even at modest settings, while the open-world games are happier at a capped 60 to 100 frames per second where the GPU is allowed to work harder per frame. The 16:10 shape gives extra vertical room for coursework, which is a real if unglamorous advantage over a 16:9 screen of similar width.
Pros
- Wi-Fi 7 named in the title, ahead of the other listing on wireless.
- Lower tier within this set, which leaves budget for a RAM upgrade.
- FHD+ 16:10 at 165Hz is a practical match for a mid-range GPU.
Cons
- 16GB of memory is the floor for modern games with background apps open; heavy multitaskers may feel it.
- The title does not say how much power the GPU may draw, so two RTX 5060 laptops can behave differently.
- No colour-coverage figure is stated, so it is not an obvious creator pick.
Check the listing: seller and warranty, slot layout for memory and storage, charger rating, port list. Ask before buying: is this a new unit with a manufacturer warranty, or a refurbished or open-box item?
ASUS ROG Strix G16 with RTX 5070 and Ryzen 9 9955HX (G614FP-OS94)
The second listing steps up to an RTX 5070 and an AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX and names DDR5-5600 memory, still at 16GB. The screen description matches the first: 16-inch 16:10 FHD+ at 165Hz with 3ms. The tier is clearly higher, and the question is whether a step up in GPU is a good use of money on a screen that stays at FHD+. A faster GPU on a 1920×1200 panel mostly buys higher frame rates and the ability to push settings up without dropping below the refresh target; it does not change the picture resolution. If you plan to connect an external 1440p monitor later, the extra GPU headroom starts to make more sense.
Pair that thought with the memory line. A more powerful processor and graphics chip paired with only 16GB is an imbalance some buyers will notice. If you edit video, stream while gaming, or keep a browser full of tabs open, treat a 32GB upgrade as part of the real price of this machine, and verify that the slots allow it.
Pros
- RTX 5070 and Ryzen 9 9955HX named, the stronger combination in this pairing.
- DDR5-5600 stated in the title, a useful detail for a memory upgrade match.
- Same 16:10 165Hz screen, so the visual experience mirrors the cheaper listing.
Cons
- Premium tier for a laptop whose stated screen is still FHD+.
- Wi-Fi 6E rather than Wi-Fi 7 as named in the title.
- 16GB RAM is a tight match for the processor and graphics class.
Check the listing: graphics power limit, cooling description, battery capacity. Ask before buying: is the extra tier worth it if I never plan to move beyond this built-in screen?
If the Strix G16 is not quite right
If your budget is tighter than either listing, our ASUS TUF Gaming A16 review looks at a cheaper way into the same screen size. If you are more interested in competitive play, the roundup of ROG Strix SCAR laptops for esports covers the higher-end side of the same brand, and the head-to-head ROG Strix SCAR versus Lenovo Legion comparison is a useful lens if you are cross-shopping brands. Those pages are separate articles, so treat them as places to widen the shortlist rather than as direct substitutes.
Buying checklist with a worked example
Before you commit, run through this list and note where the listing leaves you guessing.
- Warranty: confirm the seller and the length of coverage.
- Memory: two slots, or soldered? Budget for 32GB if you multitask.
- Storage: count free M.2 slots; 1TB fills quickly.
- Ports: HDMI or DisplayPort for a monitor, USB-C charging support.
- Charger: check the wattage and whether you can charge over USB-C for light use.
- Return window: long enough to confirm noise and temperatures in your own room.
Here is a simple worked example with stated assumptions. These numbers are our estimates, not measurements. Assume a player has a 1TB drive with roughly 900GB usable after the operating system. Assume modern installs average 80GB each and that the player wants room for 4 big games, a 150GB working area for captured video, and a 100GB buffer for updates. That is 4 times 80, plus 150, plus 100, which comes to 570GB, leaving roughly 330GB spare. In that scenario 1TB is comfortable for one user, and a second M.2 drive can wait. Change the assumptions to 10 games at 100GB each, and you need 1,000GB for games alone, which says you should plan a second drive from day one. Run the same sort of arithmetic for memory: a game plus a browser, a voice app and a launcher can sit in the low-to-mid teens of gigabytes, so 16GB works but leaves little slack, and a 32GB kit is an inexpensive way to remove that worry if the slots allow it.
A short safety note: keep the vents clear, never run a gaming laptop on bedding, and use only the charger and battery intended for the machine. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for charging, storage and any battery service.
Verdict
Choose the RTX 5060 listing if you want a capable 16-inch, 16:10 gaming laptop at a lower tier within this set and you are happy to add memory later. Choose the RTX 5070 listing if you already know you want the extra graphics headroom, perhaps for an external monitor, and can accept both the higher tier and the same 16GB memory ceiling. In both cases, read the product page for the power limit, slot layout, ports and warranty before you buy, because the titles do not cover them.
Frequently asked questions
Is the ASUS ROG Strix G16 a good laptop for 1080p gaming?
On paper, yes. Both listings pair a 16-inch FHD+ 16:10 screen at 165Hz with an RTX 5060 or RTX 5070, which are classes aimed at 1080p-to-1200p play at high settings. How a particular game runs depends on the title, the settings and the power limit, none of which the listing text states, so treat the specs as a sensible match rather than a performance promise.
How much RAM does the ASUS ROG Strix G16 come with in these listings?
Both titles state 16GB of DDR5, and the RTX 5070 listing adds DDR5-5600. That is adequate for gaming but leaves little slack when you stream, edit or keep many apps open. Check the product page for whether the memory sits in two slots; if it does, an upgrade to 32GB is a reasonable step, and if any of it is soldered, plan around 16GB.
Is the RTX 5070 version worth paying more for?
It depends on the screen you will use. The built-in panel is FHD+ at 165Hz on both listings, so the stronger GPU mainly gives you higher frame rates or higher settings at that resolution. It becomes more convincing if you will connect a 1440p external monitor, play very demanding titles, or want more headroom as games get heavier over a few years.
Does the Strix G16 have Wi-Fi 7?
The RTX 5060 listing names Wi-Fi 7 in its title, while the RTX 5070 listing names Wi-Fi 6E. If a router that supports the newer standard matters to you, that difference is worth noting, but confirm it on the product page. For most home connections, the day-to-day difference will be small compared with graphics and memory choices.
Can I use the Strix G16 for school or work as well as gaming?
Yes, with caveats. The 16:10 shape gives extra vertical space for documents and spreadsheets, and the processors named are plenty for office tasks. The trade-offs are size and charger bulk, plus fan noise under load. If you will carry it all day, check the listing for weight and charger rating before you commit.
What should I check before buying a Strix G16 from a third-party seller?
Confirm that the unit is new, that the manufacturer warranty applies to it, and that the model code in your order matches the one in the title. Ask what the return window is, whether the box contents include the charger, and whether the operating system is activated. If the price looks far below the rest of the market, read the seller’s feedback with extra care.