Our Top Picks
The listing in front of us is a Dell XPS 16 pairing a 16.3-inch OLED screen, an NVIDIA RTX 5060, an Intel Ultra 9 285H, 32GB of memory and a 1TB drive. If you want the short answer to whether that is a strong configuration on paper, it is: the title lists a high-tier processor, a mid-tier discrete GPU and a premium display, which is a combination you rarely see at the budget end of the 16-inch market. What the title cannot tell you is how it feels to use, how loud it gets, or how long it runs on a charge. Nobody on our team has handled this unit, so this review reads the listing closely and tells you what to verify, nothing more.
Prices move around on marketplace listings, so we describe tiers rather than quote numbers. This unit sits in the premium tier of the three Dell 16-inch laptops in this comparison, and the other two exist mainly to show you where the money goes.
Dell XPS 16 at a glance

Dell XPS 16 Premium 4K Touchscreen Laptop, RTX 5060, Ultra 9 285H, 32GB/1TB | Business AI PC, 16.3" OLED 120Hz, NVIDIA GPU, 3x Thunderbolt 4, 1080P IR Webcam, Backlit KB, FP, Wi-Fi 7, Win 11 Pro, DA16250
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell Premium 16 (Previously XPS 16) High Performance Laptop, 16.3" 2K Intel Ultra 7 255H 32GB LPDDR5X 1TB M.2 SSD NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5050 Fingerprint W11H
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon
Dell 16 Touchscreen Laptop for Business, Core 7 150U, 32GB DDR5, 1TB SSD | 16:10 FHD+ 300nits IPS Display, Full-size Backlit Keyboard with Number Pad, Win11 Pro, Ai Copilot Key, Wi-Fi 6, LDC16250
One of the home product options compared in this guide.
View on Amazon| Item | What the listing title says |
|---|---|
| Model name | Dell XPS 16 Premium (model code DA16250 at the end of the title) |
| Display | 16.3″ OLED, 4K, touchscreen, 120Hz |
| Processor | Ultra 9 285H |
| Graphics | NVIDIA RTX 5060 |
| Memory / storage | 32GB / 1TB |
| Ports | 3x Thunderbolt 4 |
| Other features | 1080P IR webcam, backlit keyboard, fingerprint reader, Wi-Fi 7 |
| Operating system | Win 11 Pro |
| Price tier | Premium within this set |
What the title is telling you
Start with the screen, because it drives the rest of the experience. A 16.3-inch OLED panel at 4K resolution is a high-density display, and the 120Hz figure points to smoother scrolling and motion than a standard 60Hz panel. OLED screens generally offer deep blacks and strong contrast, which suits photo and video work and dark-scene games. The usual caveats apply: OLED panels are often glossy, and some people prefer to avoid static elements on screen for long stretches. Treat both as general points rather than claims about this specific panel.
Next is the processor and graphics pairing. The title names an Ultra 9 285H and an RTX 5060. Together they place the laptop in the capable-creator class, able to handle photo editing, 1080p and 1440p video work and many games at sensible settings. The caution is that a laptop GPU with a given name can run at different power limits depending on the chassis and cooling, so identical names do not guarantee identical performance. The title does not state a power rating for the GPU, which is one of the first things to look for on the full product page.
The memory and storage are 32GB and 1TB. That is generous for the memory and adequate for storage. The 3x Thunderbolt 4 ports are a practical plus because they let you connect fast external drives, a dock or a display without hunting for adapters. The webcam, fingerprint reader and Wi-Fi 7 line items are standard features for a premium laptop, though Wi-Fi 7 only helps if your router supports it.
Finally, the labels “Business AI PC” and “Win 11 Pro” tell you the seller is positioning this as a work machine. Pro editions of Windows add management and security features that matter to business buyers, and are of little consequence to most home users.
Who the Dell XPS 16 suits
This listing fits people who want one laptop to do several jobs on a large screen. A student in a design or architecture course, for example, could use a machine like this for 3D modeling during the week and gaming in the evening. Photographers and video editors who work on location are another match, because the display is the part they stare at all day and OLED color is usually a selling point for them.
It also suits people who travel between desks. Three Thunderbolt 4 ports mean you can arrive at a client site or a university lab and connect to an external monitor and storage through a single dock. If you sit at a desk with a big monitor most of the time, the 16.3-inch screen matters less and a cheaper machine could serve you equally well.
Who should skip it
Skip this listing if your priority is a low price. The title is stacked with premium terms, and the sum of a 4K OLED, an Ultra 9 and an RTX 5060 is not what you pay for if you only browse the web and write documents. For that work, the third Dell below is a more sensible comparison.
Skip it too if you need a matte screen for bright rooms or outdoor work, since a glossy touch OLED can reflect strongly. And skip it if you must have a long battery life guaranteed in writing: the title says nothing about battery size or runtime, and a high-density OLED with a discrete GPU will usually draw more power than a basic IPS laptop. If you want a lighter Dell, look at a smaller screen, such as the model we cover in our XPS 14 guide.
What the title does and does not tell you
A listing title is a summary written by a seller, and it cannot carry everything. This one gives you the processor, GPU, memory, storage, display type and a short list of ports and features. It does not give you the following, and you should find each on the product page or ask the seller:
- Battery capacity and the charger wattage supplied in the box.
- Weight and thickness, which matter if you plan to carry the laptop daily.
- Whether the memory is soldered and whether the SSD can be replaced.
- The GPU power rating, which affects sustained gaming and rendering speed.
- Fan noise and thermal behavior under load, which only real-world measurements can answer.
- Whether the display is glossy or matte, and the stated brightness.
- Warranty length, who provides it and what the return window is.
- Whether the unit is new, open-box or refurbished.
Where numbers are given on this page beyond the title, they are labeled estimates with their assumptions stated. They are planning aids, not measurements.
Questions to ask before you buy
Use this list as a short script when you read the product page or message the seller.
- Is the exact configuration, including the RTX 5060 and the 4K panel, what will arrive, and is it shown on the order page?
- Is the unit new, and does the manufacturer warranty cover it?
- Is the keyboard layout and language what I expect?
- Is the included charger the full wattage for this configuration?
- Will the laptop receive Windows and driver updates through the manufacturer’s normal channels?
- What is the return policy if the screen has dead pixels or the fans are too loud for me?
A seller who answers these plainly is a good sign. A seller who deflects is a reason to look at the next listing.
Alternatives from the same listings
Only two other listings in this set are relevant, so there are two alternatives rather than the usual three to five. Both are Dell 16-inch laptops, which makes them fair comparisons on size but not on class.
Dell Premium 16 (Previously XPS 16) with Ultra 7 255H and RTX 5050
The second listing says the laptop was “Previously XPS 16”. That wording is the seller’s and likely reflects a rename of the product line, but it is worth confirming on the product page rather than assuming. The title names a 16.3-inch 2K screen, an Ultra 7 255H, 32GB of LPDDR5X memory, a 1TB M.2 SSD, an RTX 5050 and a fingerprint reader, with Windows 11 Home.
Against the first listing, it steps down in processor tier, GPU tier and screen resolution, and it ships with Home rather than Pro. That is a sensible trade for someone who plays games at 1080p or 1440p and does not need a 4K OLED. It would be a poorer fit for color-critical editing, though that depends on the panel type, which the title does not state.
- Pros: likely easier on the budget than the first listing; 32GB of LPDDR5X memory is a generous amount; M.2 SSD is named, which suggests a standard drive format.
- Cons: 2K panel type is not stated; lower GPU tier than the first listing; Windows 11 Home lacks some Pro features.
Check the listing for: panel type and brightness, battery size, touch support and the number and type of ports. Question to ask: does “2K” mean an OLED, or an IPS panel?
Dell 16 Touchscreen Laptop for Business with Core 7 150U
The third listing is not an XPS and not a gaming laptop. The title names a Core 7 150U, 32GB of DDR5, a 1TB SSD, a 16:10 FHD+ IPS display with 300 nits, a full-size backlit keyboard with a number pad, Windows 11 Pro, a Copilot key and Wi-Fi 6. A dedicated GPU is not mentioned, which suggests integrated graphics.
That makes it a good match for office work, writing, study and web use on a big screen. The number pad is a real plus for spreadsheets. The 300-nit panel is on the dim side for bright rooms, and Wi-Fi 6 rather than Wi-Fi 7 will not matter unless your network is already on the newer standard.
- Pros: number pad and Pro edition suit office work; 32GB of DDR5 is generous for this class; likely a lower price tier than the first two.
- Cons: no discrete graphics named; 300 nits is modest brightness; not suited to heavy creative or gaming workloads.
Check the listing for: whether the memory is soldered, weight, battery size and whether the touchscreen is on this exact configuration. If your plans might include a Dell with a smaller footprint, our Dell 14 Plus 2-in-1 review covers a different shape of machine.
Buying checklist
Before you commit to any 16-inch laptop, run through the points below. They apply to the XPS 16 and to the two alternatives alike.
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| GPU power rating | A stated wattage on the product page | The same GPU name can perform differently at different power limits |
| Display type and finish | Panel type, brightness, glossy or matte | Reflections and brightness shape comfort in bright rooms |
| Memory design | Soldered or slotted | Decides whether you can upgrade later |
| Storage slot | Whether the SSD is replaceable | Affects the cost of adding capacity |
| Ports | Number, type, and whether charging uses them | Determines how many accessories you can connect |
| Battery and charger | Battery size in Wh, charger wattage | Guides expectations for portability |
| Warranty and seller | Who stands behind the unit | Protects you if the unit arrives faulty |
Worked example: how long does 1TB last?
Say you are a student who edits video and plays games. These assumptions are our own estimates, not figures from the listing: Windows and applications take about 250GB, each video project holds around 120GB of footage and exports, and you want to keep 15 percent of the drive free for the system to work comfortably, which is 150GB on a 1TB drive.
That leaves roughly 1,000 minus 250 minus 150, which is about 600GB. At 120GB per project, you have room for about five projects before you need to archive something to an external drive. Add two large game installs of 100GB each, and you drop to three projects. The lesson is simple: 1TB is adequate, but plan for an external drive from the start. Three Thunderbolt 4 ports make that easier on the first Dell than on a laptop with fewer fast ports.
Three ways this laptop could fit into a week
Specs make more sense when you attach them to a routine, so here are three scenarios. Each is an illustration, not a prediction of how the unit behaves.
The design student. Mornings are lectures with a notes app and a browser, afternoons are modeling or rendering in a lab, evenings are a couple of games. The large screen helps with side-by-side windows, and the discrete GPU is the reason the laptop belongs on the shortlist at all. The question to settle is weight, since a 16-inch machine in a backpack adds up across a semester.
The freelance photographer. The 4K OLED panel is the headline, but only if the listing confirms good color coverage and you calibrate the screen. Three Thunderbolt 4 ports suit card readers and fast drives. Storage is the weak point, because a busy shoot can fill a 1TB drive in a few sessions.
The remote worker who games on the side. Windows 11 Pro and a fingerprint reader suit work accounts, and the RTX 5060 covers evening play at moderate settings. If most of your day is video calls, the 1080P IR webcam named in the title is a useful detail, though image quality is something only reviews and samples can show.
Verdict
On paper, the Dell XPS 16 listing is the strongest of the three: the best processor, the best GPU named, the highest-resolution display, and the most ports. It is a good fit for a student or a working creator who wants a large OLED screen and the ability to run games. Its weak spots are what the title leaves out: battery, weight, noise, GPU power rating and the seller’s conditions. If those details check out, it is a good premium pick. If the price tier is too high, the Dell Premium 16 with the RTX 5050 is the sensible step down for gaming, and the Core 7 150U model is the sensible choice for office use. The title is a seller’s claim, so verify every spec on the product page.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Dell XPS 16 a gaming laptop?
The listing describes a Dell XPS 16 with an NVIDIA RTX 5060 and a 120Hz OLED panel, so it can run games, but it is sold as a premium business and creator machine rather than a dedicated gaming model. Gaming laptops usually advertise cooling and power limits, and this title says nothing about either. If frame rates are your priority, compare it with purpose-built gaming listings and check the GPU power rating.
Does the XPS 16 have a touchscreen?
The title says “4K Touchscreen Laptop”, and it also names a 16.3-inch OLED at 120Hz. That is the seller’s wording, so confirm on the product page that touch is part of this exact configuration before you order. Touch panels are often glossy, which can mean more reflections in bright rooms. If you prefer a matte screen, read the display section of the listing carefully, or look for a non-touch variant.
Is 32GB RAM and a 1TB SSD enough?
For most work and gaming, 32GB of memory is comfortable, and 1TB of storage holds a typical creative library for a while. Storage fills faster than most people expect once large game installs and video projects are involved. The title does not say whether the SSD slot can be upgraded or whether the memory is soldered, so ask before you rely on adding capacity later, and plan for an external drive.
What is the difference between the XPS 16 and the Dell Premium 16 listing?
The second listing says “Dell Premium 16 (Previously XPS 16)” and names an Ultra 7 255H, an RTX 5050 and a 16.3-inch 2K screen. The first names an Ultra 9 285H, an RTX 5060 and a 4K OLED. On paper, that makes the first the higher tier in processor, graphics and display. Neither title confirms battery size or weight, so compare the full product pages.
Why does the Dell 16 with a Core 7 150U cost less to consider?
It is a different class of machine. The third listing names a Core 7 150U, a 300-nit IPS panel and Wi-Fi 6, and it does not mention a discrete GPU. That points toward office and study work, not graphics-heavy tasks. If your plan includes games, video editing or 3D work, it is the weaker fit, and it should be judged as a business laptop rather than a rival to the XPS.
Should I buy from a third-party seller?
Buy from a seller you can identify, and read who ships and who handles returns. Titles that stack many marketing terms and a model code at the end are common on marketplace listings, so ask whether the configuration was changed by the seller and whether the manufacturer warranty applies. Keep the order page and serial number, and check the return window while you can still send the laptop back.