Updated Oct 21, 2026· 20 min read

Our Top Picks

  1. VisionOwl Portable Monitor for Laptop
    Check on Amazon
  2. BenQ MA320U 32” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook®8.5828 x 24 x 8 Inches33.6 Pounds
    Check on Amazon
  3. InnoView Portable Monitor
    Check on Amazon
  4. cocopar Portable Monitor 15.6 Inch 1080P FHD 60Hz
    Check on Amazon
  5. MOKiN MacBook Pro Docking Station Dual Monitor MacBook
    Check on Amazon
  6. BenQ MA270U 27” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook®24 x 22 x 8.6 inches
    Check on Amazon

The best monitors for MacBook Pro and Air are the ones whose ports, size and price fit how you actually work: a fixed 4K screen with USB-C power delivery for a desk, or a slim portable panel for a bag. Of the eight listings below, six are screens and two are docking stations that add display outputs, so we compare them by job rather than pretending they are the same product. For a permanent desk, the three BenQ models are the closest match to what the titles promise (Mac-specific color matching, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery). For travel and tight budgets, the three portable panels cost far less but ask you to check more details; our separate guide to portable monitors for gaming laptops goes deeper on that category.

Top picks at a glance

VisionOwl Portable Monitor for Laptop, IPS USB-C HDMI Travel Second Monitor for MacBook Pro Air, PC, PS5, Xbox, Portable Second Screen, Built-in Kickstand, Speakers, VESA Mountable, 18.5 Inch

VisionOwl Portable Monitor for Laptop, IPS USB-C HDMI Travel Second Monitor for MacBook Pro Air, PC, PS5, Xbox, Portable Second Screen, Built-in Kickstand, Speakers, VESA Mountable, 18.5 Inch

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

BenQ MA320U 32” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

BenQ MA320U 32” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

InnoView Portable Monitor, 15.6 Inch FHD 1080P HDMI USB C Second External Monitor for Laptop, Desktop, MacBook, Phones, Tablet, PS5/4, Xbox, Switch, Built-in Speaker with Protective Case

InnoView Portable Monitor, 15.6 Inch FHD 1080P HDMI USB C Second External Monitor for Laptop, Desktop, MacBook, Phones, Tablet, PS5/4, Xbox, Switch, Built-in Speaker with Protective Case

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

cocopar Portable Monitor 15.6 Inch 1080P FHD 60Hz 85% sRGB Travel Monitor with Speaker HDMI USB-C Second Screen for Laptop MacBook Surface PC Xbox PS4/5, VESA Mountable, with Cover Stand

cocopar Portable Monitor 15.6 Inch 1080P FHD 60Hz 85% sRGB Travel Monitor with Speaker HDMI USB-C Second Screen for Laptop MacBook Surface PC Xbox PS4/5, VESA Mountable, with Cover Stand

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

MOKiN MacBook Pro Docking Station Dual Monitor MacBook Pro/Air HDMI Adapter | 9 in 1 USB C Adapters for MacBook Pro Air Mac HDMI Dock Dongle Dual USBC to Dual HDMI,Ethernet,3USB,SD/microSD,100W PD

MOKiN MacBook Pro Docking Station Dual Monitor MacBook Pro/Air HDMI Adapter | 9 in 1 USB C Adapters for MacBook Pro Air Mac HDMI Dock Dongle Dual USBC to Dual HDMI,Ethernet,3USB,SD/microSD,100W PD

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

BenQ MA270U 27” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

BenQ MA270U 27” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

BenQ MA270UP 27” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

BenQ MA270UP 27” 4K 3840x2160 Monitor for MacBook® Pro/Air, Dual USB-C, 90W Power Delivery, Mac Color Match, USB Hub, Brightness & Volume Control on Mac, Height & Tilt Adjustable Stand, P3 Color Gamut

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

USB C Docking Station 3 Monitors for MacBook Air Pro Triple 4K@60Hz Extended Display with Dsiplaylink for M5 M4 M3 M2 M1 Laptop USB Dock with 2 HDMI & 2 DisplayPort, PD 100W, QC 18W, USB 3.2 10 Gbps

USB C Docking Station 3 Monitors for MacBook Air Pro Triple 4K@60Hz Extended Display with Dsiplaylink for M5 M4 M3 M2 M1 Laptop USB Dock with 2 HDMI & 2 DisplayPort, PD 100W, QC 18W, USB 3.2 10 Gbps

One of the home product options compared in this guide.

View on Amazon

Model Key point from the title Price tier Best for
BenQ MA270U 27-inch 4K, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery, Mac Color Match, USB hub Premium Fixed desk setup
BenQ MA270UP 27-inch Same headline features as the MA270U; “P” suffix not explained Premium Buyers who find it at the better price
BenQ MA320U 32-inch 4K, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery, P3 color gamut Premium Larger workspace, creative work
VisionOwl 18.5-inch portable IPS, USB-C and HDMI, kickstand, speakers, VESA mount Mid-range Bigger-than-usual travel screen
cocopar 15.6-inch portable 1080p, 60Hz, 85% sRGB, USB-C and HDMI, cover stand Budget Everyday second screen on the go
InnoView 15.6-inch portable 1080p, HDMI and USB-C, speaker, protective case Budget Lowest-cost screen in the set
JCYMELE USB-C triple-display dock DisplayLink, 2 HDMI + 2 DisplayPort, 100W PD Mid-range Multi-monitor desks (dock, not a screen)
MOKiN 9-in-1 dual-HDMI dock Dual HDMI, Ethernet, 3 USB, SD/microSD, 100W PD Budget Port expansion (dock, not a screen)

What is changing in this category

A few years ago, “a monitor for a MacBook” mostly meant any display with an HDMI port and a pile of adapters. The category has shifted toward screens that behave like part of the laptop: one USB-C cable carries video, data and charging, and a built-in hub turns the monitor into the desk’s connection point. Several of the listings here lean on exactly that idea, with dual USB-C ports, a stated 90W of power delivery and a USB hub.

Color is the second shift. Monitors aimed at Mac owners increasingly advertise wide gamuts such as P3, because Apple laptop panels cover a wide gamut and people compare screens side by side. Seller claims about gamut coverage are worth reading carefully: “P3 color gamut” in a title is a feature statement, not a guarantee of accuracy out of the box.

Third, portable monitors have become ordinary accessories rather than novelties. Thin USB-C panels with kickstands, speakers and cover stands now sit at prices far below desk monitors. The trade-off is usually brightness, resolution and stand ergonomics, none of which a short title can describe. Treat any numbers you read here as seller claims.

Finally, docks have grown more ambitious. Some advertise three displays from one cable, which sounds attractive for Apple laptops that are limited in how many screens they drive natively. Display limits differ by chip generation, so check Apple’s technical specifications for your exact MacBook before buying any multi-display accessory. If you are still choosing the laptop itself, our MacBook Air buying roundup covers that side. Software-based approaches such as DisplayLink need a driver and behave differently from a native connection.

How we picked these

We compared the eight listings using their published titles, manufacturer documentation where it exists, and buyer reviews as a source of recurring themes. We grouped them into desk monitors, portable monitors and docks, then ranked within each group on how many Mac-relevant features the title states. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Anything the title does not state is marked “check the listing”, and price tiers are relative to this set only.

The picks, one by one

BenQ MA270U 27-inch 4K: the clearest desk pick

The title lists a 27-inch screen at 3840×2160, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery, a USB hub, “Mac Color Match”, brightness and volume control from the Mac, a height and tilt adjustable stand, and P3 color gamut. That is the most complete Mac-oriented feature list in this set, and it describes a single-cable desk setup: plug in one USB-C cable and the laptop charges while it drives the picture.

It suits someone who works at the same desk daily, wants to close the laptop lid or keep it beside the screen, and edits photos or documents where color consistency matters. A typical scenario: a MacBook Air on a stand, keyboard and mouse plugged into the monitor’s hub, one cable to the laptop.

  • Pros: stated 90W charging, built-in hub, height-adjustable stand, 4K at a familiar size.
  • Pros: Mac-specific brightness and volume control is named in the title.
  • Cons: premium price tier in this set.
  • Cons: 90W may be modest if your laptop’s own charger is larger.

Check the listing for refresh rate, brightness, panel type, port counts and whether a USB-C cable is included. Question to ask: does my MacBook’s own charger exceed 90W, and do I mind charging a little slower under heavy load?

BenQ MA270UP 27-inch 4K: same headline, different suffix

Apart from the model number, the title is word-for-word the same as the MA270U: 27-inch 4K, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery, Mac Color Match, USB hub, adjustable stand, P3 gamut. The listing title does not explain what the extra “P” means, so we cannot say what differs. Treat it as a close sibling, not a different class.

This is a choice for buyers who want the same desk setup and are comparing two listings at the same price tier. Use the manufacturer’s product pages to compare the two model numbers line by line instead of assuming the suffix means an upgrade. If one is out of stock or noticeably cheaper at checkout, the title gives no reason to prefer either.

  • Pros: same stated features as its sibling, including the hub and 90W charging.
  • Pros: gives a second option if availability or pricing differs.
  • Cons: near-duplicate of the MA270U, so it adds little variety.
  • Cons: the title does not say what the suffix changes.

Check the listing for any differences in ports, stand, warranty and included cables. Question to ask: what specifically differs from the MA270U on the manufacturer’s page, and is that difference worth any gap in price?

BenQ MA320U 32-inch 4K: more room to spread out

The 32-inch member of the same family states 4K at 3840×2160, dual USB-C, 90W power delivery, Mac Color Match, a USB hub, an adjustable stand and P3 gamut. The title is otherwise identical to the 27-inch versions, so the main change is physical size and, at the same resolution, a lower pixel density.

That matters for how text looks. By our own arithmetic, a 32-inch 4K panel works out to roughly 138 pixels per inch, against roughly 163 for a 27-inch 4K panel. It is a good fit for people who want two full windows side by side, timelines, spreadsheets or design canvases, and who sit at least an arm’s length away.

  • Pros: much larger workspace at the same stated feature set.
  • Pros: single-cable charging and hub behavior described in the title.
  • Cons: highest price tier in the set, and it needs a deep, sturdy desk.
  • Cons: lower pixel density than the 27-inch models, so text may look less sharp up close.

Check the listing for dimensions, weight and VESA compatibility. Question to ask: do I have the desk depth to sit comfortably in front of a 32-inch screen?

VisionOwl 18.5-inch portable: a larger travel screen

The title calls this an IPS portable monitor with USB-C and HDMI, a built-in kickstand, speakers and VESA mounting, at 18.5 inches. It names MacBook Pro and Air, PC, PS5 and Xbox, so it is pitched as a general-purpose second screen. The title does not state resolution, brightness or refresh rate, which are the specs that decide whether it is pleasant to use all day.

It suits someone who wants more screen than the usual 15.6-inch panels for hotel rooms, a shared kitchen table or a console setup, and who is happy to carry a larger device. Because the title mentions VESA mounting, it could also live on a small arm at a desk instead of being packed away.

  • Pros: larger than the other portables in this set, with a kickstand and speakers built in.
  • Pros: both USB-C and HDMI are named, plus VESA mounting.
  • Cons: resolution is not stated, so do not assume 1080p.
  • Cons: bigger and heavier than a 15.6-inch panel, so less pocket-friendly.

Check the listing for resolution, brightness, power draw, whether USB-C carries both power and video from your Mac, and whether a case is included. Question to ask: will it run from my laptop’s USB-C port alone, or does it also need a separate charger?

cocopar 15.6-inch portable: a spec-forward budget screen

This one states more detail than most portables: 1080p, 60Hz, 85% sRGB, a speaker, HDMI and USB-C, VESA mounting and a cover that works as a stand. The 85% sRGB figure is a seller claim and tells you the colors will be less saturated than a wide-gamut screen, which is fine for documents and video calls but not for color-critical editing.

It suits students, remote workers and travelers who want a second window for email, chat or notes. By our own arithmetic, a 15.6-inch 1080p panel is roughly 141 pixels per inch, which is serviceable for text at arm’s length but not as crisp as a Retina display.

  • Pros: stated 60Hz, 85% sRGB and 1080p, so expectations are clearer.
  • Pros: cover stand and VESA mounting add flexibility.
  • Cons: color coverage is limited compared with the BenQ family.
  • Cons: brightness and weight are not listed.

Check the listing for brightness, thickness and cable length. Question to ask: will the USB-C port on my Mac supply enough power for this screen, or will it drain the battery noticeably?

InnoView 15.6-inch portable: the lowest-cost screen

The title lists FHD 1080P, HDMI and USB-C, a built-in speaker and a protective case, and says it works with laptops, desktops, MacBook, phones, tablets, PS5/4, Xbox and Switch. It is the lowest-priced actual monitor in the set, and the case is a sensible inclusion for a product meant to be carried.

It is a practical pick for someone who wants to try a second screen without committing to a premium panel. A realistic scenario: a laptop on a lap desk with this panel beside it for reference material. Titles that name this many devices also tend to leave out the fine print, such as which phones support video output over USB-C.

  • Pros: low price tier, protective case named in the title.
  • Pros: broad device compatibility claims, including consoles.
  • Cons: no color gamut, brightness or refresh rate stated.
  • Cons: similar size and resolution to the cocopar, which states more detail.

Check the listing for panel type, weight, included cables and warranty. Question to ask: given the cocopar lists more specs at a comparable class, what exactly am I saving by choosing this one?

MOKiN 9-in-1 dual-HDMI dock: ports, not a screen

This is not a monitor. The title describes a USB-C docking adapter with dual HDMI outputs, Ethernet, three USB ports, SD and microSD card slots and 100W power delivery. It belongs in a monitors roundup only because it is the accessory that connects HDMI screens to a laptop with few ports.

Dual HDMI from a single USB-C port sounds like two extended displays, but how a given MacBook handles that depends on its chip and macOS. Some adapters mirror the same image on both outputs on certain Macs. The title does not say which behavior to expect, so read the manufacturer’s notes before counting on two independent screens.

  • Pros: lowest price in the set and a long list of ports in one device.
  • Pros: 100W pass-through charging is named.
  • Cons: it does not provide a screen, so it is only useful if you already own monitors.
  • Cons: dual-display behavior on Apple laptops may be limited; check before buying.

Check the listing for supported resolutions and refresh rates per output, and compatibility notes for your exact MacBook. Question to ask: do I need two extended screens or is mirroring enough?

Also not a monitor. The title describes a dock with two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, “Triple 4K@60Hz extended display” with DisplayLink, 100W power delivery, 18W quick charge and USB 3.2 at 10Gbps, and lists M1 through M5 laptops. The title misspells DisplayLink, so double-check the manufacturer’s page for the exact technology and driver requirements.

DisplayLink docks compress video over USB and rely on a driver installed on the Mac, which is how they can add screens beyond what the laptop’s chip supports natively. That helps a multi-monitor desk, but it can behave differently from a direct connection with some content, and driver updates matter after macOS upgrades.

  • Pros: multiple outputs and 100W power delivery named in the title.
  • Pros: addresses the Apple laptop external-display limit, if the driver works for you.
  • Cons: needs a driver, and the three-4K claim is a seller statement to verify.
  • Cons: you still need to buy the monitors.

Check the listing for driver compatibility with your macOS version, and whether protected video plays on the extra screens. Question to ask: am I comfortable maintaining a driver on a work laptop?

Buying guide

Resolution and macOS scaling

Mac laptops use high-density panels, so a screen with too few pixels for its size looks soft next to them. A common rule of thumb is that macOS looks best on displays around 200 pixels per inch or on 4K screens at about 27 inches run in a scaled mode. By our own arithmetic, 4K at 27 inches is about 163 pixels per inch and at 32 inches about 138. A 1080p 15.6-inch portable is about 141, which is fine for secondary content.

Scaled modes have a cost: macOS renders at a higher internal resolution and scales down, which needs graphics bandwidth. The cost is small on modern Apple chips, but it is another reason to confirm what your model supports.

Ports and power delivery

The single most useful feature for a MacBook is a USB-C input that carries video and charges the laptop at the same time. Add up your needs: if the laptop can draw more than the monitor supplies, it will charge slowly or not at all under load. A stated 90W suits many thin-and-light models; a larger laptop may prefer 96W or more, or its own charger. Use a cable rated for the wattage and video you expect.

Color: sRGB, P3 and out-of-the-box accuracy

sRGB coverage is the baseline for web and office use. P3 matters if you edit photos or video for Apple devices. A coverage percentage is not accuracy: it says how much of a space the panel can show, not how closely colors match. If color is your job, look for factory calibration reports and plan on a hardware calibrator.

Panel type, brightness and finish

IPS panels have wide viewing angles and good color for the price. OLED can look striking but costs more and brings burn-in considerations. Glossy coatings improve contrast but reflect lamps and windows; matte coatings tame glare. Brightness is rarely stated in titles, so check the listing, especially for portables used near windows.

Size, stand and mounting

Choose size from your viewing distance and desk depth. A height-adjustable stand matters more than most buyers expect; if the stand is fixed, VESA mounting lets you add an arm. Portable monitors with cover stands tend to sit low, so a laptop stand beside them can help.

Cables and adapters

A monitor with USB-C is only as good as the cable between it and the Mac. Some USB-C cables carry charging and data but not video; others are rated for video but limit wattage. When a listing states 90W or 100W power delivery, pair it with a cable that is rated for at least that figure and for video output, and keep the length short, since longer passive cables can drop signal quality at 4K. If you use HDMI instead, confirm the port version in the listing, because older versions may cap 4K at a lower refresh rate and make the cursor feel sluggish.

Portable monitors: power, brightness and posture

Portable panels run from the laptop’s USB-C port in many cases, which is convenient but shortens battery life. Brightness is the spec buyers most often wish they had checked, because a dim panel is hard to read near a window. Posture matters too (the same applies if you pair a screen with a MacBook Pro used for games): a screen placed low and to the side invites neck strain, so a small stand or arm that lifts it closer to eye level makes a lasting difference. Listings that mention VESA mounting give you that option.

Docks and multiple screens

If you plan more than one external screen, find your MacBook’s exact supported display count in Apple’s technical specifications before choosing a dock. Native multi-display docks work differently from DisplayLink docks, which need a driver. Two screens from one USB-C port is the point where listings most often disappoint.

Worked example with stated assumptions

Assume a 14-inch laptop that draws about 40W while working and ships with a 70W charger; assume you pick a monitor that supplies 90W. That leaves about 50W for charging, so the laptop will charge at close to full speed during normal work. Assume instead that the laptop draws up to 90W under a heavy export: the monitor’s supply barely covers it and the battery would hold level rather than charge. These numbers are illustrative assumptions, not measurements.

Spec concept What to look for Why it matters
Resolution and size 4K at 27 inches, or 1080p at 15.6 inches for portables Controls sharpness against Retina laptop screens
USB-C power delivery Stated wattage at or above your laptop’s typical draw Decides whether one cable can charge and display
Color gamut sRGB for office, P3 for creative work Matches what you see to what you publish
Hub and extra ports Number and type of USB ports, upstream connection Turns the monitor into a desk connection point
Stand and mount Height adjustment, tilt, VESA pattern Ergonomics and desk space
Dock driver model Native versus DisplayLink Determines multi-screen limits and maintenance

Mistakes buyers make

The first mistake is treating a dock as a monitor. Two of the eight listings add outputs but no screen, so budget for the displays too. The second is assuming a portable monitor will run from one laptop port without checking power draw; battery drain is a common complaint in buyer reviews of portables in general.

Third, buyers compare resolution without considering size, then wonder why a large 4K or a small 1080p looks different on their desk. Fourth, people treat “P3” or “sRGB” in a title as proof of accuracy. Fifth, they forget to count cables: a USB-C cable that cannot carry video is a classic source of “no signal” frustration.

Another frequent mistake is buying on screen size alone. A bigger panel without enough resolution looks soft, and a high-resolution panel at a small size may force scaling that makes menus tiny. Match size, resolution and viewing distance together, and look at the listing’s photos of the stand to judge how much desk space the base will take.

Finally, many buyers assume every MacBook can drive any number of screens. Apple’s limits vary by chip, and a dock with several outputs is only as capable as the Mac and driver behind it. Read the compatibility notes for your exact model.

Verdict by use case

For a fixed desk with one cable to the laptop, choose from the BenQ family: the 27-inch MA270U or its near-twin MA270UP for most desks, and the 32-inch MA320U if you want more room. For travel, the cocopar states the most detail among the budget portables, the InnoView is the lowest-cost option, and the VisionOwl offers a larger canvas if you can carry it. If you mostly work with documents, spreadsheets and email, a 27-inch 4K screen is plenty and the 32-inch is a luxury. If you edit photos or video, favor the models that state wide gamut coverage and verify accuracy with a calibration tool. If you game on a console as well, the VisionOwl names PS5 and Xbox compatibility, but check the refresh rate before relying on it for fast games. For multi-monitor desks, the JCYMELE dock is the one aimed at three displays, with the driver caveat; the MOKiN dock is a lower-cost way to add ports and two HDMI outputs, with the mirroring caveat.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a special monitor for a MacBook Pro or Air?

No special monitor is required, since any display with a compatible input works. What changes the experience is the connection and the scaling: a USB-C input with power delivery lets one cable charge the laptop, and a high-resolution panel looks sharper next to a Retina screen. Titles that mention Mac features, such as brightness control from the Mac, describe convenience rather than necessity. Check your model’s supported display count before buying, and compare the listing’s ports with the ones on your Mac.

Is 4K worth it on a MacBook?

For a 27-inch or 32-inch desk monitor, 4K is generally the practical choice because lower resolutions look soft next to a laptop panel. By our own arithmetic, 4K works out to about 163 pixels per inch at 27 inches and about 138 at 32 inches. For a small portable screen used for chat and notes, 1080p is often acceptable and lighter on both budget and power, though text will look noticeably less sharp up close.

Can a portable monitor run from my MacBook alone?

Often yes over USB-C, but it depends on the monitor’s power draw and the laptop’s port. A portable that draws power from the laptop will shorten battery life, and some need a separate charger for full brightness. The listing titles here do not state power consumption, so check the manufacturer’s page and buyer reviews, and carry a short, video-capable USB-C cable. If the screen dims or flickers when the battery runs low, a separate charger is the usual fix.

Will a dock let me connect two or three monitors to a MacBook?

It depends on the chip in your Mac and on how the dock works. Native docks are limited by what the laptop supports, while DisplayLink docks use a driver to add screens beyond that limit. Some dual-HDMI adapters mirror rather than extend on certain Macs. Read Apple’s specifications for your exact model and the dock maker’s compatibility notes before purchasing.

What does 90W power delivery mean for my MacBook?

It means the monitor can supply up to 90 watts to the laptop through the USB-C cable. If your laptop draws less than that while working, the battery charges; if it draws more during heavy tasks, charging slows or stops. Many thin laptops sit comfortably under 90W, but larger models may prefer their own charger. Check your laptop’s rated charger wattage and use a cable rated for at least the same figure.

Are 27-inch and 32-inch 4K monitors different for text clarity?

Yes. With the same resolution, the larger panel spreads pixels over a bigger area, so text is less sharp at the same viewing distance. By our own arithmetic, 27 inches is about 163 pixels per inch and 32 inches about 138. Many people sit farther back from a 32-inch screen, which compensates, but it is worth considering if you read small type all day.

M
Mason Reed
We compare specs, materials and verified owner reviews before a product earns a spot. Rankings are never paid.

FAQ

Do I need a special monitor for a MacBook Pro or Air?
No special monitor is required, since any display with a compatible input works. What changes the experience is the connection and the scaling: a USB-C input with power delivery lets one cable charge the laptop, and a high-resolution panel looks sharper next to a Retina screen. Titles that mention Mac features, such as brightness control from the Mac, describe convenience rather than necessity. Check your model’s supported display count before buying, and compare the listing’s ports with the ones on your Mac.
Is 4K worth it on a MacBook?
For a 27-inch or 32-inch desk monitor, 4K is generally the practical choice because lower resolutions look soft next to a laptop panel. By our own arithmetic, 4K works out to about 163 pixels per inch at 27 inches and about 138 at 32 inches. For a small portable screen used for chat and notes, 1080p is often acceptable and lighter on both budget and power, though text will look noticeably less sharp up close.
Can a portable monitor run from my MacBook alone?
Often yes over USB-C, but it depends on the monitor’s power draw and the laptop’s port. A portable that draws power from the laptop will shorten battery life, and some need a separate charger for full brightness. The listing titles here do not state power consumption, so check the manufacturer’s page and buyer reviews, and carry a short, video-capable USB-C cable. If the screen dims or flickers when the battery runs low, a separate charger is the usual fix.
Will a dock let me connect two or three monitors to a MacBook?
It depends on the chip in your Mac and on how the dock works. Native docks are limited by what the laptop supports, while DisplayLink docks use a driver to add screens beyond that limit. Some dual-HDMI adapters mirror rather than extend on certain Macs. Read Apple’s specifications for your exact model and the dock maker’s compatibility notes before purchasing.
What does 90W power delivery mean for my MacBook?
It means the monitor can supply up to 90 watts to the laptop through the USB-C cable. If your laptop draws less than that while working, the battery charges; if it draws more during heavy tasks, charging slows or stops. Many thin laptops sit comfortably under 90W, but larger models may prefer their own charger. Check your laptop’s rated charger wattage and use a cable rated for at least the same figure.
Are 27-inch and 32-inch 4K monitors different for text clarity?
Yes. With the same resolution, the larger panel spreads pixels over a bigger area, so text is less sharp at the same viewing distance. By our own arithmetic, 27 inches is about 163 pixels per inch and 32 inches about 138. Many people sit farther back from a 32-inch screen, which compensates, but it is worth considering if you read small type all day.
Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices accurate as of the date shown.
Best Monitors for MacBook Pro and Air: Desk…Check price on Amazon